Yuzvendra Chahal smiles after being omitted from the T20I series against Australia

Yuzvendra Chahal smiles after being omitted from the T20I series against Australia. Yuzendra Chahal has 96 wickets in T20Is, making him India’s highest wicket-taker.

Despite his excellent performance for India, Yuzvendra Chahal not selected for the ODI World Cup 2023 roster. Soon after the tournament, the Board of Control for Cricket in India release the roster for the forthcoming five-match T20I series against Australia. Chahal was once again left out of the 15-man squad. Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, and Ravi Bishnoi all made it from the spin department, but Chahal will have to wait.

Notably, Chahal is India’s highest wicket-taker in the game’s shortest format. The 33-year-old has 96 wickets in 80 T20Is and has been a consistent match-winner. In the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, he again in fine form for Haryana, taking nine wickets in his last four outings. The BCCI selectors, on the other hand, back the players who perform well for the national squad in the Asian Games.

Also Read: Pitch invader enters Narendra Modi Stadium Kohli refuses to hug

His absence from the T20I team irritated the spinner

He didn’t say much and simply smiled on X (previously Twitter) when the BCCI revealed the roster for the T20I series, which will begin on November 23 in Visakhapatnam.

However, several veteran cricketers been rest for the series. Skipper Rohit Sharma, along with Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami. Mohammed Siraj, and a few others, have been given respite ahead of an away series against South Africa. In Rohit’s absence from the T20I squad, Hardik Pandya led the team, but the all-rounder is still recovering from an ankle injury sustain during the ODI World Cup and hence is not in the squad.

In his absence, Suryakumar Yadav will captain the team. Shreyas Iyer serving as vice-captain till he returns for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru. Meanwhile, VVS Laxman is slate to be the series’ head coach.

Also Read: Suryakumar Yadav will captain India in the T20I series against Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *